What is the default comment restriction?

The default comment restriction makes it possible to set a default restriction role for all comments made by users in your Jira instance or in a specific project.

How can I use the default comment restriction?

Use default comment restrictions if you notice yourself or your users constantly switching to the same comment restriction role. By setting a global default you can greatly reduce the time you spend switching between restriction roles.

To set different default comment restrictions for different users you can use comment restrictions for groups.

Configuring the default comment restriction

  1. Navigate to either the project configuration screen or the global configuration screen. You can read more about the difference between global and project settings here.

  2. Scroll down to the "Default Comment Restriction" section.

  3. Select the comment restriction role you want to use as the global/project default in the "Default Role" field. The setting will save automatically after selection.

  • No labels